get it here:
LP CD Digital
release date:

June 21, 2011

  • 1. III.I
  • 2. III.II
  • 3. III.III
  • 4. III.IV
  • 5. III.V
  • 6. III.VI
  • 7. III.VII
  • 8. III.VIII

Other titles in the Space Program:
Space (CD Staubgold, 2006; 2LP Taiga, 2007)
Space Solo 1 (CD Quecksilber, 2007; LP Taiga, 2008)
Space Elements Vol. I (CD Staubgold, 2008; LP Taiga, 2008)
Space Elements Vol. II (CD Staubgold, 2010; LP Taiga, 2010)

Space Elements Vol. III (2011)

This is the third volume of the Space Program’s Space Elements series. In this series, each volume features guests and is focused on a compositional function. The Space Program is a long-term project launched in 2004, for performing music with a post-free jazz mind-set but using strange sounds from electronic instruments. Playing physically, the body is involved in making decisions. The Space Program is about articulating silence and sound, structuring musical flow on experimental instruments with a simple and clear sonic identity.
All these instruments are different but have a few things in common. The first is that they don’t have a conventional interface, which means that for all of them i have to find out what they do and develop technique to play them. The second is that none of them respond accurately to performing action. So there’s always a live tension between an accurate decision and its somewhat unpredictable outcome. I meant to play music technically free from any school and teachings, but beyond that i also wanted the music somehow to escape my own self, playing instruments with a sort of life of their own, never allowing complete control and making any repetition virtually impossible.
Rafael Toral, 2008 / 2011


Tiny Mixtapes

It all hangs loosely together like a wizard’s sleeve hanging off his bony arm, and the success rate of these odd instrumental pairings (squeaked clarinet and metal brushes; soft street bells and subtle “tap”s; cymbal-tom slaps and… SHIT, I DON’T KNOW WHAT ANY OF THIS IS) is near-perfect.

Produced by Rafael Toral.
Recorded during 2010 at Noise Precision, on location (Lisboa, Almoçageme), Nakatani-Kobo (Easton, PA), Estúdio do Bairro (Lisboa) and live at Art Of This gallery (Minneapolis, MN) in 2009.
Mixed at Noise Precision, winter 2010.
Mastered by James Plotkin.
Graphic design by NOTYPE (
Typeface by Mário Feliciano: Stella, ©FTF 2000—2006.
Collage by João Paulo Feliciano: I Dream of Cities in Colours #13 (paper collage, 112 x 74 cm), courtesy of the artist and Cristina Guerra Contemporary Art.
My deep thanks to everyone involved.

Afonso Simões: drums (1, 8).
Riccardo Dillon Wanke: rhodes piano (2, 7, 8).
César Burago: maracas (2), tamborim (2), shakers (2, 4), cowbell (3), claves (4, 7), kokiriko (7).
Tatsuya Nakatani: percussion (3).
Victor Gama: acrux (4).
Marco Franco: drums (5).
Toshio Kajiwara: lap steel guitar (6).
Rafael Toral: electrode oscillator (1), modified MS-2 pocket amplifier feedback (2, 4, 7, 8), glove-controlled computer bass sinewaves (2, 7, 8), filtered feedback circuit (2, 5, 7), modified MT-10 portable amplifier (2, 3, 8), modulated noise (4, 6); modular synthesizer (4, 6), tamtam (7).